Advisory Board

Brian Daniels, MD

Dr. Brian F. Daniels, MD, serves as a Venture Partner of 5AM Venture Management LLC. He has extensive experience in clinical development, medical affairs and corporate strategy across a broad range of therapeutic areas. Prior to joining 5AM, Dr. Daniels served as Senior Vice President of Global Development and Medical Affairs, Research & Development of Bristol-Myers Squibb Co., where was a Member of the 5AM Venture Management Senior Management Team. Previously, he served as Senior Vice President of Global Clinical Development, Research and Development, a division of Bristol-Myers Squibb Co, as well as directing and conducting clinical research at Merck Research Laboratories and at Genentech. He directed the development of innovative medicines, including Apixaban®, Onglyza®, Myalept® and Farxiga® (CV/metabolics), Orencia® and Nulogix® (immunology), Abilify® (neuroscience), Baraclude®, Reyataz®, Daclatasvir® and Asunaprevir® (virology) and Sprycel®, Ixempra®, Yervoy®, elotuzumab and nivolumab (oncology). He also served as a Member of Management Council at Bristol-Myers Squibb Company. He is a Member of Scientific Advisory Board at Novira Therapeutics, Inc. and serves a Director of Medarex, Inc. and Spyryx Biosciences, Inc. Dr. Daniels has an MD from Washington University School of Medicine and holds an MS in Biology, Metabolism and Nutritional Biochemistry and a BS in Biology, each from Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He completed residency programs in internal medicine at The New York Hospital of Cornell Medical College in New York and in rheumatology at the University of California, San Francisco.


Don Drakeman

During his 25 years in the industry, Don Drakeman has overseen the progress of more than 30 innovative new medical products for cancer, infectious disease and inflammation from research concept into clinical trials. Several of these have now become FDA-approved therapeutic products for cancer and other diseases. In that time, he co-founded two multi-billion-dollar biotech companies: Medarex Inc and Genmab A/S. Under his leadership as CEO, Medarex raised more than a billion dollars, formed alliances with many pharmaceutical companies, developed numerous therapeutic products and spun-off Genmab, which completed Europe’s largest biotech IPO to date. Currently, Mr. Drakeman is a Venture Partner with Advent Life Sciences. With an exceptional record in building biotechnology companies, he takes on a senior non-executive role with Advent portfolio companies. He also sources and reviews new investment opportunities in the US and Europe. Mr. Drakeman received an AB from Dartmouth College, a JD from Columbia University and a PhD in the Humanities from Princeton University, where he has served as a member of the faculty. He is currently a Fellow in Health Management at the University of Cambridge.


Louis M. Weiner, MD

Dr. Louis Weiner is the Director of the Georgetown Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center and holds the Francis L. and Charlotte G. Gragnani Chair and Professor of Oncology at Georgetown University. Dr. Weiner is known for his laboratory and clinical research focusing on new therapeutic approaches that mobilize the patient’s immune system to fight cancer using monoclonal antibodies and other modalities of therapy. As Director of Lombardi, Chair of the Department of Oncology, Associate Vice President of Georgetown University Medical Center, and Clinical Director of Cancer Services at Georgetown University Hospital, Dr. Weiner is responsible for the operation and development of the cancer center, including its educational, research and clinical missions. The clinical mission includes co-chairing the Medstar-Georgetown Network in the Metropolitan Washington area. Prior to joining Lombardi, Dr. Weiner served as chairman of the Medical Oncology Department and vice president for Translational Research at Fox Chase Cancer Center in Philadelphia, PA. He held an endowed chair in medical science and was the driving force behind developing an immunotherapy laboratory and clinical programs, as well as establishing the Center’s medical oncology fellowship program. Dr. Weiner also served as professor in the Department of Medicine at Temple University School of Medicine. Dr. Weiner earned his bachelor degree in biology with honors from the University of Pennsylvania and his medical degree from Mount Sinai School of Medicine. After completing his internship, residency and service as chief medical resident at the University of Vermont’s Medical Center Hospital, he held clinical and research fellowships in hematology and oncology at Tufts University School of Medicine in Boston.